confessions of a material girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bubble Dress. January 15, 2007

Filed under: design — iheartcouture @ 5:09 am

so I made this pink bubble dress from some silk dupioni that I was going to use to make curtains or pillows (yes, they would have been some bright-ass curtains. lol.)
anyway, here is the dress which I made from Burda #7983. I was going to draft it, but then I saw this pattern and bought it for $1 so…what can I say, I saved myself some time. ok. the pattern has a strapless bubble with a giant bow or a wide strap 2-layer dress with a front tab. I decided to make the bubble with the tab instead of the bow and to shorten it a LOT… this is what I came up with:

pinkbubble

then, as I was going through magazines today…yes, I am in the process of ripping out swipe from all of my magazines…I have a million, and getting rid of them because they take up too much room on my bookcase and I have to make room for more books (lol).

bookshelf

The fun never ends people…and I also categorized the pile of swipe I already ripped that was accumulating on my workspace.


workspace

Everyone knows you can’t get down to business (aka 3 dress illustrations for a “springtime Hollywood garden wedding) when everything is in disarray…duh

back to the point-

ok, so in Harper’s Bazaar there was this dress (a $3500 Oscar de la Renta) worn by Cameron Diaz. I think mine is a very comparable knockoff (even if it wasn’t on purpose) so I would like to find a similar print and make another:

camd camd

so I am going to make this Peter Som dress som

from the same pattern I used for the de la Renta dress…so we’ll see how it goes 🙂

 

17 Responses to “Bubble Dress.”

  1. rundtom Says:

    I love the dress you have sewed, not only the design but also the colour! Isn’t it difficult to sew it with all this folds?
    Hehe it’s a cool idéa to sort your books after colours, very fancy.
    Ripping out from magazines, I know all about that, but when I moved to my new apartment, i lost all the rip-outs i had collected. 😦

  2. Priya Says:

    Love the dress, love the color, love it all. Keep up the great work.

  3. Kellie Says:

    I too love the dress, I actually came across your site because it references that pattern, and I think your blog is awesome, really inspiring!

    Can I ask what you lined the pink dress with? I am making a variation of that pattern and was hoping for some feedback from you.

    Can’t wait to see what you create next!

  4. ashley Says:

    wooww! you’re sketches are amazinngg!
    i am only 15, and i lovee fashion,
    and this christmas i am asking for a sewing machine because i feel the need to just lock myself in my room and come out with dresses, and flannels, and blouses, and skirts, and whatever you can imagine!
    you are such an excellent artist and desginer.
    i lovee your clothes!
    and i just wanted to say that you are such an inspiration to many people, and those including myself.
    i wish you the best of luck in your design career!
    i hope my time comes as well!
    sincerly,
    ashley

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Hey, so…

    I LOVE YOUR DRESS!
    I will pay you to make one for me, in green… how much?
    I truly mean it, I’ll send you my sizes! Please, I am begging, this is exactly the type of dress I have been looking for but in green. My prom is in June. Let me know ASAP, if you can or can’t. Thank you so much!

    E-mail me at jenncecc@hotmail.com, thanks again! 🙂

  6. Courtney Says:

    Hi, I am looking for this same type of pattern but I can’t seem to find an inexpensive one. How did you get it so cheap? Also how much fabric did it take to make that dress? Great job on it, It’s super cute!

  7. Monte Says:

    Erin~
    Is the purple bubble dress the one that is a knock-off of Cameron’s dress? If it is i think your’s looks a MILLION times better! Very cute and very you. The print on her’s is awful (I think).

    -Monte
    p.s. looking at your stuff is inspiring to me. i hope you are doing well.

  8. Jessica Says:

    I love your dress. It is fabulous. I have a sewing machine and I would like to start making clothes such as this dress. I was wondering if you could help me out by giving me some pointers; whether it is how to make a dress like yours or just to get started. Thank you so much!

  9. Megan Says:

    I love this dress i have been wanting to make a dress like this for ages and have the perfect fabric for it but i can’t find any patterns please could you tell me where you got yours from or give me a few tips on how to make a dress like this ?
    my email is meg_jones23@hotmail.co.uk

  10. blaire kim Says:

    your bubble strapless dress is amazing.

    i’ve been looking all around sites trying to find a dress pattern JUST like the one u made.
    may i ask where did u get that dress pattern from???
    thank youuuuuuuu;]

  11. blaire kim Says:

    thank you so much for the reply!<3
    but; where can i get the pattern?

  12. blaire kim Says:

    THANK YOU<3
    hopefully my dress could come out half as good as urs ;]

  13. Megan Says:

    Hi,
    I have just bought this pattern for my GCSE textiles coursework and was wondering if you had any pictures of your dress from the back as i love it! I would like to shorten the dress to about where you have it, so would you be able to help me?
    Many Thanks
    Megan
    UK

  14. Bella Says:

    Hi, I am looking for a bubble dress pattern and love this one that you made. I am planning to make one for my niece’s prom, can you let me know where and how I might be able to get hold of this pattern? Thanks so much!

  15. anita Says:

    Hey!
    I really inspired.I love your sketches ,dress,color n pattern.
    I love it all.I am also interested in designing. Your designs are beautiful.
    I wish all the best for your bright career.
    keep it up Good job…….
    Thank u so much!!
    Anita
    Nepal

  16. crystal simmons Says:

    im getting married in november and was looking for different types of cute bubble dresses for my bridesmaide dresses can u help me out

  17. epha tjong Says:

    nice dress<3 ❤ ❤
    i'm lookin 4 dress pattern lyk urs but couldn't find the detailed 1, where did u get it?thx^^


Leave a Reply

