confessions of a material girl

Just another WordPress.com weblog

halters for pattern drafting January 30, 2007

Filed under: design,sewing — iheartcouture @ 6:43 am

UPDATE!!!
halter

erinhalter
it looks kinda like the sketch 🙂 (see below)
erinhalter2

sister halters
they could be sisters…sarah’s, mine and natalia’s spring halters

I am making the chartreuse halter for my class. that is the one that was selected by my instructor and the class.

here are my VERY rough sketches for my halter top design for my pattern drafting class. it is spring/summer junior (but we are allowed to design for a sophisticated junior…whew!!)
halter sketches

I was very inspired by the creative process behind Alber Elbaz’s (Lanvin) Lily dress…
lily sketch lily1

…YSL Spring 2007
ysl1 ysl2

…and vintage aprons
apron

Full croquis, flats and swatches to come…we’ll see next week which one I’ll end up making.

green halterpeach halterblue halterwhite halter

ok here are my final designs. I had to do three but did four and that is why there aren’t flats on the last croquis. These are NOT illustrations..they are quick croquis with flats. so they’re not fully rendered. I present tomorrowso we’ll see which one I end up making. I like all 3 but I think that the strongest one from a design perspective and getting it right in flat pattern is the chartreuse one. I also have alternate fabrics for that one…a cotton silk voile in nude and black. we were supposed to stay with spring colors, but nude with black accents for evening is in this spring. I hope I can use them, they look amaaaaazing together. 🙂

 

5 Responses to “halters for pattern drafting”

  1. kem Says:

    wow! your work is GREEEAAT.. im a first year fashion design student. im not sure what year your in but i wish you the best of luck! what advice would you give to fellow design students?

  2. Thanks! I’m first year fashion too 🙂 I would say the most important thing is to always look at what is going on in the design world…look at all of the fashion week shows, go to museums, art exhibits, EVERYTHING…just get out there and be inspired. oh, and save tearsheets of everything you like 🙂

  3. Jess Says:

    Your work is amazing, i wish i had half the talent you have. im in gr12 and to look at your work is inspirational.

  4. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

  5. La Couturier Says:

    simply gorgeous. you are so talented!

    xoxo,
    La C


Leave a Reply

